Executive Committee

The Executive Committee oversees the operation of HoPS, and is made up of representatives from up to 15 authorities. There are also three co-opted members representing external organisations (COSLA, RTPI Scotland and Improvement Service). The current chair of the Executive Committee is Robert Gray (Aberdeenshire Council) and the Vice Chair is Iain McDiarmid (Shetland Islands Council). The remit of the Executive Committee is to:

  • develop, ensure delivery of and monitor a business plan
  • agree and monitor the annual budget
  • lead communication and liaison with the Scottish Government, public bodies, COSLA and other organisations relevant to the interests of HoPS
  • make recommendations and take action in relation to matters of policy
  • to direct public relations and stakeholder communications


Planning Review and Planning (Scotland) Bill

HOPS Paper on the Major Fee Increase (February 2019)
PDF Document

Joint Letter on Rights of Appeal (June 2018)
PDF Document

HOPS Paper on the Major Fee Increase (May 2017)
PDF Document

HOPS Response to the Scottish Government Position Statement (August 2017)
PDF Document

HoPS Response to the Independent Review of Planning (May 2017)
PDF Document

HOPS Vision Statement for the Planning Review (December 2016)
PDF Document