Development Management

The Development Management sub-committee is made up of representatives from all 34 planning authorities. The Chair of this sub-committee is Beverly Smith (The Moray Council) and the Vice Chairs are Nancy Jamieson (City of Edinburgh Council) and Alastair Hamilton (Fife Council). Its role is to:

  • provide guidance to the Executive Committee and wider HoPS members on emerging development management and related issues
  • represent planning authority development management practitioners at the interface with Scottish Government and other stakeholders including the key agencies
  • to respond on behalf of HoPS to development management queries


HOPS Validation and Determination Guidance for Planning Applications (Living Document Last Updated October 2017)
HOPS Validation and Determination Guidance